Media Center Media Center

Press release on computerised draw for the Kailash Mansarovar Yatra 2018

May 08, 2018

External Affairs Minister Smt. Sushma Swaraj presided over the computerized draw of lots on 8th May 2018 for the selection of Yatris for the forthcoming Kailash Manasarovar Yatra 2018 organised by Ministry of External Affairs. The Yatra is scheduled to begin from 8 June 2018 and will continue till 8 September 2018. Selection of the Yatris is done through a computerized draw- a computer-generated, random, gender-balanced transparent selection process.

This year 3734 applicants had successfully registered on-line at the website for the Kailash Manasarovar Yatra, which includes 2818 male applicants, and 916 female applicants. As per schedule for 2018, there would be 18 batches consisting of 60 Yatris via the Lipulekh route, and 10 batches consisting of 50 Yatris via the Nathu La route.

The selected Yatris are informed through SMS and email messages. Applicants for the Yatra can also login at the website http to check the status of their selection, or through the automated helpline number No:011-24300655.

As one of the most sacred pilgrimages for Hindu, Buddhist and Jain pilgrims, the Kailash Manasarovar Yatra is a flagship public outreach initiative of the Ministry of External Affairs. It is the Ministry’s constant endeavour to make the Yatra comfortable and safe for the Yatris, allowing them a fulfilling spiritual experience. Ministry of External Affairs also appoints Liaison Officers from Central and State Governments for each batch to assist the Yatris during the pilgrimage. Starting this year, the Government of India has decided to include two Liaison Officers in each batch, to render better assistance to the Yatris as part of Ministry’s citizen-friendly initiative. Some of the Liaison Officers would also have previous experience of the Yatra which could be of further advantage to the Yatris.

The Kailash Manasarovar Yatra is organised every year by the Ministry of External Affairs with support from Indo Tibetan Border Police (ITBP), Ministry of Home Affairs, the State Governments of Delhi, Uttarakhand and Sikkim, Ministry of Defense, and some civil society organizations.

New Delhi
May 08, 2018


Post A Comment

  • Name *
    E-mail *
  • Write Your Comment *
  • Verification Code * Verification Code