¹[FOURTH SCHEDULE

[Articles 4(1) and 80(2)]

Allocation of seats in the Council of States

To each State or Union territory specified in the first column of the following table, there shall be allotted the number of seats specified in the second column thereof opposite to that State or that Union territory, as the case may be:

TABLE

	1 ADLE	
1.	Andhra Pradesh	18
2.	Assam	7
3.	Bihar	² [16]
³ [4	Jharkhand	6]
⁴ [⁵ [5.]	Goa	1]
⁶ [⁵ [6.]	Gujarat	11]
⁷ [⁵ [7.]	Haryana	5]
⁵ [8.]	Kerala	9
⁵ [9.]	Madhya Pradesh	8[11]
⁹ [⁵ [10.]	Chhattisgarh	5]
¹⁰ [⁵ [11.]	Tamil Nadu]	¹¹ [18]
¹² [⁵ [12.]	Maharashtra	19]
¹³ [⁵ [13.]	Karnataka]	12
⁵ [14.]	Orissa	10
⁵ [15.]	Punjah	¹⁴ [7]

¹Subs. by the Constitution (Seventh Amendment) Act, 1956, s. 3, for the Fourth Sch. ²Subs. by the Bihar Reorganisation Act, 2000 (30 of 2000), s. 7, for "22" (w.e.f. 15-11-2000). ³Ins. by s. 7, *ibid*. (w.e.f. 15-11-2000).

 4 Ins. by the Goa, Daman and Diu Reorganisation Act, 1987 (18 of 1987), s. 6 (w.e.f. 30-5-1987).

⁵Entries 4 to 29 renumbered as entries 5 to 30 by the Bihar Reorganisation Act, 2000 (30 of 2000), s. 7 (w.e.f. 15-11-2000).

 6 Subs. by the Bombay Reorganisation Act, 1960 (11 of 1960), s. 6, for entry 4^* (renumbered as 6^*) (w.e.f. 1-5-1960).

⁷Ins. by the Punjab Reorganisation Act, 1966 (31 of 1966), s. 9 (w.e.f. 1-11-1966).

 8 Subs. by the Madhya Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000 (28 of 2000), s. 7, for "16" (w.e.f. 1-11-2000).

⁹Ins. by s. 7, *ibid.* (w.e.f. 1-11-2000).

¹⁰Subs. by the Madras State (Alteration of Name) Act, 1968 (53 of 1968), s. 5, for "*8. Madras" (renumbered as *11) (w.e.f. 14-1-1969).

¹¹Subs. by the Andhra Pradesh and Madras (Alteration of Boundaries) Act, 1959 (56 of 1959), s. 8, for "17" (w.e.f. 1-4-1960).

¹²Ins. by the Bombay Reorganisation Act, 1960 (11 of 1960), s. 6 (w.e.f. 1-5-1960).

¹³Subs. by the Mysore State (Alteration of Name) Act, 1973 (31 of 1973), s. 5, for "*10. Mysore" (renumbered as *13) (w.e.f. 1-11-1973).

¹⁴Subs. by the Punjab Reorganisation Act, 1966 (31 of 1966), s. 9, for "11" (w.e.f. 1-11-1966).

(Fourth Schedule)

¹ [16.]	Rajasthan	10	
¹ [17.]	Uttar Pradesh	² [31]	
³ [¹ [18.]	⁴ [Uttarakhand]	. 3]	
¹ [19.]	West Bengal	16	
¹ [20.]	Jammu and Kashmir	4	
⁵ [¹ [21.]	Nagaland	1]	
⁶ [¹ [22.]	Himachal Pradesh	3]	
¹ [23.]	Manipur	1	
¹ [24.]	Tripura	1	
¹ [25.]	Meghalaya	1	
⁷ [1[26.]	Sikkim	1]	
⁸ [¹ [27.]	Mizoram	1]	
⁹ [1[28.]	Arunachal Pradesh	1]	
¹ [29.]	Delhi	3	
¹ [30.]	¹⁰ [Puducherry]	1	
	Total	¹¹ [233]]	

¹Entries 4 to 29 renumbered as entries 5 to 30 by the Bihar Reorganisation Act, 2000 (30 of 2000), s. 7 (w.e.f. 15-11-2000).

 $^2 Subs.$ by the Uttar Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000 (29 of 2000), s. 7, for "34" (w.e.f. 9-11-2000).

³Ins. by s. 7, *ibid*. (w.e.f. 9-11-2000).

⁴Subs. by the Uttaranchal (Alteration of Name) Act, 2006 (52 of 2006), s. 5 for the word "Uttaranchal" (w.e.f. 1-1-2007).

⁵Ins. by the State of Nagaland Act, 1962 (27 of 1962), s. 6 (w.e.f. 1-12-1963).

⁶Ins. by the State of Himachal Pradesh Act, 1970 (53 of 1970), s. 5 (w.e.f. 25-1-1971).

⁷Ins. by the Constitution (Thirty-sixth Amendment) Act, 1975, s. 4 (w.e.f. 26-4-1975).

⁸Ins. by the State of Mizoram Act, 1986 (34 of 1986), s. 5 (w.e.f. 20-2-1987).

⁹Ins. by the State of Arunachal Pradesh Act, 1986 (69 of 1986), s. 5 (w.e.f. 20-2-1987).

¹⁰Subs. by the Pondicherry (Alteration of Name) Act, 2006 (44 of 2006), s. 6, for the word "Pondicherry" (w.e.f. 1-10-2006).

 $^{11} Subs.$ by the Goa, Daman and Diu Reorganisation Act, 1987 (18 of 1987), s. 6, for "232" (w.e.f. 30-5-1987).