### **EAST AFRICAN COMMUNITY**

- The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organization of 6 Partner States: the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, the United Republic of Tanzania, and the Republic of Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.
- The EAC is home to 177 million citizens, of which over 22% is urban population.
   With a land area of 2.5 million square kilometres and a combined Gross Domestic Product of US\$ 193 billion.
- The work of the EAC is guided by its Treaty which established the Community. It was signed on 30 November 1999 and entered into force on 7 July 2000 following its ratification by the original three Partner States Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda. The Republic of Rwanda and the Republic of Burundi acceded to the EAC Treaty on 18 June 2007 and became full Members of the Community with effect from 1 July 2007. The Republic of South Sudan acceded to the Treaty on 15 April 2016 and become a full Member on 15 August 2016.
- The EAC is a potential precursor to the establishment of the East African Federation, a proposed federation of its members In 2010, the EAC launched its own common market for goods, labour, and capital within the region, with the goal of creating a common currency and eventually a full political federation. In 2013, a protocol was signed outlining their plans for launching a monetary union within 10 years. In September 2018 a committee was formed to begin the process of drafting a regional constitution.

### Key EAC Dates

Date	Event
1967	EAC first established
1977	EAC dissolved
30 November	Signing of Agreement for the Establishment of the
1993	Permanent Tripartite Commission for East African Co-
	operation
14 March 1996	Secretariat of the Permanent Tripartite Commission
	launched, full co-operation operations begin
30 November	Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community
1999	signed
7 July 2000	Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community
-	enters into force

18 June 2007	The Republic of Rwanda and the Republic of Burundi accede to EAC Treaty
1 July 2007	Rwanda and Burundi become full members of the EAC
20 November	Protocol for the Establishment of the EAC Common Market
2009	signed
30 November	Protocol for the Establishment of the EAC Monetary Union
2013	signed
15 April 2016	The Republic of South Sudan accedes to EAC Treaty
5 September	The Republic of South Sudan becomes a full member of the
2016	EAC

- The EAC journey to a monetary union began with the establishment of the East African Monetary Union in 2015, which provided a roadmap to achieve a single currency region within 10 years (by 2024). A memorandum of understanding for currency convertibility has since been signed, and fiscal, monetary, and exchange rate policies are being harmonized. The EAC is also streamlining financial sector operations, including stock market trading practices and regulations. To facilitate this, the EAC passed a bill in 2017 to establish the East African Monetary Institute.
- Despite the numerous drivers and opportunities, progress in regional integration has been limited. Lack of complementarily in trading, low competitive position of countries to supply goods in the region (which is related to lack of structural transformation, low productivity, and a wide infrastructure gap), institutional capacity weakness to advance regional integration, and failure to address political issues related to regional integration. Kenya and Rwanda are strong supporters of fast-tracking the economic integration but Tanzania and Burundi prefer a gradual process. The broad goodwill for integration is also marred by undercurrents of competition between Kenya and Tanzania as well as Burundi and Rwanda.
- Other problems involve states being reluctant to relinquish involvement in other regional groups, e.g., Tanzania's withdrawal from COMESA but staying within the SADC bloc for the Economic Partnership Agreement negotiations with the European Union. Many Tanzanians are also concerned because creating a common market means removing obstacles to the free movement of labour and capital. Free movement of labour may be perceived as highly desirable in Uganda and Kenya, and have important developmental benefits in Tanzania; however, in Tanzania there is widespread resistance to the idea of ceding land

rights to foreigners, including citizens of Kenya and Uganda. Informal polls have indicate that most Tanzanians (80 percent) have an unfavourable view of the East African Federation.

# **Secretary General**

- Amb. Libérat Mfumukeko is the current Secretary General of the East African Community. He was appointed with effect from 26<sup>th</sup> April 2016. Previously he served as the EAC Deputy Secretary General in charge of Finance and Administration from 29<sup>th</sup> April 2015 to 25<sup>th</sup> April, 2016. Amb. Mfumukeko has over twenty five (25) years work experience in both private and public sector. Before joining the EAC, he was the Director General (DG) of the Burundi Electricity and Water National Company from 2013 to 2015 and President of the Steering Committee of the East African Power Pool. He has served as a Senior Advisor to the President of the Republic of Burundi in charge of Economic Affairs (2012-2013) with a Ministerial rank. Amb. Mfumukeko was the Director General of the Burundi Investment Promotion Authority (2009-2012). He has also served as an Economic Expert at the United Nations FAO from 2006 to 2009. From 1990 to 2006, he worked as a full time employee, consultant or trader in the USA and France at Banque Populaire (France), EDF GDF Electricite de France (France), American Express, Mobil Oil, FUBU, Karl Kani (USA).
- He holds Bachelor's and Masters Degree in Economics & Corporate Management (Université Francois Rabelais of Tours - France) and an MBA from Clark University – (MA, USA). A former lecturer at Clark University, he later directed an international corporate training program in Change Management and International Business in collaboration with Clark University, Harvard University and MIT in USA. In addition to the above, he spent a year at the Preparatory School of Moscow State University - Lomonossov to learn Russian.
- Amb. Mfumukeko is fluent in English, French, Kirundi, Kiswahili and Russian. He
  has a long international career having worked in Cameroon, DR Congo, France,
  Ivory Coast, Russia, Rwanda and the USA.

# Chairperson

 President Paul Kagame of Rwanda took over the Chair of EAC from his Ugandan counterpart in February, 2019.

#### India's interaction with EAC

- An MOU on Economic Cooperation between India and East African Community was signed on 28 April 2003. An EAC delegation led by Hon. John Arap Koech, Chairperson of the EAC Council of Ministers and Minister for East African Community of the Republic of Kenya paid a six day official visit tolndia from 19 to 24 February 2007 at the end of the visit a joint communiqué was signed on 22 February 2007 which spelt out a program of cooperation.
- EAC participated in the first India-Africa Forum Summit in April, 2008. The secretary General visited India in November, 2010 and again in November, 2011. In the second IAFS, India offered four institutions to EAC- an Agricultural Seed Production-cum-Demonstration centre in Rwanda, Material Testing Lab in Kenya, Farm Science Centre in Burundi and Soil, Water and Tissue Testing Lab in Tanzania.
- India offers 15 training slots for EAC Institutions and Secretariat. EAC had also
  raised the possibility of Indian funding for cross country projects but our
  preference has remained for bilateral initiatives because of their effectiveness
  and better visibility.

\* \* \* \* \*

(February 2020)