## STATE/UT WISE SEATS IN THE LOK SABHA

For the purpose of constituting the Lok Sabha , the whole country has been divided into 543 Parliamentary Constituencies , each one of which elects one member. The members of the Lok Sabha are elected directly by the eligible voters . The President of India can nominate a maximum of two members as representatives of the Anglo- Indian community . Some seats are reserved in Lok Sabha for the members of the Schedule Castes and Scheduled Tribes. As per the order issued by the Delimitation Commission in 2008 , 412 are general, 84 seats are reserved for Scheduled Castes and 47 seats for the Scheduled Tribes .Earlier it was 79 and 41 for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes respectively.

Table 1 shows State-wise break –up of seats and reserved seats for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes before and after the Delimitation in 2008.

## TABLE 1

Name of the Cooks in the House of Cooks in the House of										
Name of the		Seats		House as	Seats		House as			
State/Union Territory			tuted in 20		subsequently constituted as					
			of the Deli		per the Delimitation of					
			mentary and		Parliamentary and Assembly					
			tuencies Ord	· · ·	Constituencies Order, 2008					
		Total		Reserved	Total	Reserved	Reserved			
			for the	for the		for the	for the			
			Scheduled	Scheduled		Scheduled				
	CEL MERC		Castes	Tribes		Castes	Tribes			
	STATES:		_							
1.	Andhra Pradesh	42	6	2	42	7	3			
2.	Arunachal	2	-	-	2	-	-			
	Pradesh*									
3.	Assam*	14	1	2	14	1	2			
4.	Bihar	40	7	-	40	6	-			
5.	Chhattisgarh	11	2	4	11	1	4			
6.	Goa	2	-	-	2	ı	-			
7.	Gujarat	26	2	4	26	2	4			
8.	Haryana	10	2	-	10	2	-			
9.	Himachal	4	1	-	4	1	-			
	Pradesh									
10.	Jammu and	6	-	-	6	-	-			
	Kashmir*									
11.	Jharkhand@	14	1	5	14	1	5			
12.	Karnataka	28	4	-	28	5	2			
13.	Kerala	20	2	-	20	2	-			
14.	Madhya Pradesh	29	4	5	29	4	6			
15.	Maharashtra	48	3	4	48	5	4			
16.	Manipur*	2	-	1	2	-	1			
17.	Meghalaya	2	-	-	2	-	2			

18.	Mizoram	1	-	1	1	-	1
19.	Nagaland*	1	-	-	1	-	-
20.	Orissa	21	3	5	21	3	5
21.	Punjab	13	3	1	13	4	-
22.	Rajasthan	25	4	3	25	4	3
23.	Sikkim	1	-	ı	1	-	-
24.	Tamil Nadu	39	7	-	39	7	-
25.	Tripura	2	1	1	2	1	1
26.	Uttarakhand	5	1	ı	5	1	1
27.	Uttar Pradesh	80	18	ı	80	17	-
28.	West Bengal	42	8	2	42	10	2
	II. UNION						
	<b>TERRITORIES:</b>						
1.	Andaman and	1	-	-	1	-	-
	Nicobar Islands						
2.	Chandigarh	1	-	-	1	-	-
3.	Dadra and Nagar	1	-	1	1	-	1
	Haveli						
4.	Delhi	7	1	-	7	1	-
5.	Daman and Diu	1	-	-	1	-	-
6.	Lakshadweep	1	-	1	1	-	1
7.	Puducherry	1	-	-	1	-	-
	Total Seats	543	79	41	543	84	47

<sup>\* -</sup> States excluded from Delimitation Exercise

@ Order issued by the Delimitation Commission was nullified by the Sec 10 B of the Delimitation Amendment Act ,2008

## ABOUT THE DELIMITATION COMMISSION

The word "Delimitation" literally means the act or process of fixing limits or boundaries of territorial constituencies in a country or a province having a legislative body. The job of delimitation is assigned to a high power body. Such a body is known as Delimitation Commission or a Boundary Commission . In India, such Delimitation Commission have been constituted four times , in 1952 under the Delimitation Commission Act , 1952 , in 1963 under the Delimitation Commission Act 1962, in 1973 under the Delimitation Commission Act, 1972 and in 2002 under the Delimitation Commission Act, 2002.

The main purpose of the undertaking the delimitation exercise is to rationalize the structure and composition of the electoral constituencies , on the principle of "One vote and one value". The Delimitation Commission , set up under the Delimitation Act ,2002 , was entrusted with the task of readjusting all parliamentary and assembly constituencies in the country in all the states of India , except the state of Jammu and Kashmir, on the basis of population ascertained in 2001 Census.

On 14 th January,2008, the Government of India promulgated an Ordinance amending the Delimitation Act,2002 nullifies the Final Order of the Delimitation Commission for the state of Jharkhand. Later on, the Government have passed four separate Orders under Sec 10 A of the Delimitation Act, 2002, deferring the delimitation exercise in the four North Eastern states of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Nagaland