Passport Seva Programme (PSP) Division

Central Passport Organization (CPO)

The Central Passport Organization (CPO) was created in 1959 as a subordinate office of the Ministry of External Affairs and is headed by Additional Secretary (Passport Seva Programme) and Chief Passport Officer, who also acts as the Appellate Authority under the Passports Act,1967 and the Head of Department under the Delegation of Financial Powers Rules 1978. The Head Quarter of the CPO is in the Passport Seva Programme (PSP) Division of the Ministry. The Division works under the supervision of Secretary (CPV and OIA). Joint Secretary (CPV) is responsible for the issue of diplomatic and official passports, consular and visa matters. The passport services are provided throught the CPO and its network of Passport Offices; Passport Seva Kendras (PSKs); and Post Office Passport Seva Kendras (POPSKs). Consular, Visa and Passport services to overseas Indians/ Foreign nationals are provided through the Indian Missions and Posts abroad.

Seniority List